The 2019 Annual General Meeting of County Carlow Chamber took place in the inspirational Delta Centre, Carlow on Wednesday last the 15th May.  The evening commenced at 6.15pm with networking and refreshments, and attendees were also invited to explore the sun drenched gardens in advance of the meeting.

The meeting was opened by Brian O’Farrell, CEO of the County Carlow Chamber who outlined the format and agenda for the evening, before welcoming Yvonne Jones to the podium for her final presentation in her capacity of President.

In her address, Yvonne discussed some of the highlights of her time as President, while also acknowledging the contributions of members in creating and supporting our great Chamber.  She spoke of the inspiration she received from her parents and parents in law who collectively have a business legacy of over 75 years, and the support of colleagues and Past President Derek Shannon in guiding her to be a strong voice for the business community of Carlow.  It was however the support and encouragement of Keith and her children that guided her along through the last 2 years and provided the energy, focus and time to give her time to the role in the Chamber.

Yvonne also acknowledged the work of the team in the Chamber office, and extended best wishes to Fiona who will be leaving for new endeavours in the coming weeks, she noted how Fiona has made a significant contribution over the last number of years and the board and the team wished to acknowledge everything she has done.

In her final duty as President, Yvonne said that the Chamber wished to acknowledge and recognise the contributions that another Tullow woman has made to both Carlow town and County throughout a distinguished career with Carlow County Council.

Bernie O’Brien recently retired from her position as Director of Services for Carlow County Council after a career spanning 42 years, she is someone who has an incredible work ethic and has given her all in helping to drive Carlow forward.  Bernie is someone that you could always pick up the phone to and has made a huge contribution to the development of the town and county.

Yvonne presented Bernie with an engraved board from local company Ballyshane Studio, after which Bernie spoke of her delight at being invited to attend the AGM as guest of the Chamber.  She spoke about some of the changes that have taken place over the years and the contribution of the Chamber and the business community.

Claire Caplice of Joyce and Caplice Accountants who is the Treasurer of the Chamber presented the audited financial statements for the Chamber for 2018.  The accounts were audited by RDA Accountants an overview of the trading position and balance sheet for the year were reviewed.

Concluding the her Presidency, Yvonne Jones handed over the Chain of Office to Eileen Brophy, who became the 36th President of the County Carlow Chamber.  This was followed by the election of officers. In accordance with the Articles of Association of the Chamber, one third of the Directors shall retire from Office. This is determined by those who have been longest in office. An election was deemed necessary and the ballots were returned for counting.

Eileen Brophy, in her first address as President of the Chamber, acknowledged the hard work and dedication of Yvonne over the last two years and the great work that the Chamber has been leading with.  She was honoured to be taking over as President of the Chamber and looked forward to working with the members and all stakeholders for the further economic development and enhancement of Carlow.

In recognition of the contribution and dedication from Yvonne over the last two years as President of the Chamber, Eileen presented Yvonne with some local gifts.  These included an engraved cheese board produced by Ballyshane Studio and a gift basket of Jo Browne products which included the Aroma Bamboo Diffuser and a selection of her amazing solid perfumes.

With the results of the election finalised, it was noted that 4 of the 5 seats on the board were filled, however a further ballot was required in order to separate candidates who had an equal number of votes.  The second ballot was dully organised and the count completed.

Following the election, it was confirmed that:

  • Dooley, Rowena
  • Duggan, Colin
  • McDonald, Philip
  • Meagher, Martin
  • Ó’Searcóid, Eoghan

were all elected to the board of the County Carlow Chamber.